To Have, To Hold, For Better or For Worse. The true meaning of marriage.

Today 30 years ago, I affixed my twirly curly signature to a certificate that spells three things: trust, love and hope. Yes, 22nd January 1983! I have been married to the same person for 30 years! If you ask me how do we make it last ….. Hey, I haven’t the faintest idea. If you ask my three angels (though sometimes they are more than devils), they will also wonder why.

Pat will be 28 this year and I wish for her a life that’s full of happiness as she hopefully soon, walk down the aisle with that nerdy (which means brainy!) guy of hers. Chaps that talk less and laugh more make good sons-in-law! Pam, dear sweet Pam, will be 25, though more often than not, she passes off as 16. I think it’s to do with her perennially-cherubic face. She’s doing a Masters of Law in Sydney though, for the life of me, I find her so different from Pat who’s now a lawyer. Pat is brittle and authoritative, Pam is quietly strong and courageous and Pauli, she’s 22 and an incurable optimist like me. Strange, three girls with three different characters. Tell me about it!

So yes, 30 years is a long time but as the song goes, I did it My Way! It’s my favorite song. Why? Regrets I’ve had a few, but then too few to remember … I’ve loved, I’ve laughed and cried…. I’ve had my share of losing. And now, as tears subside, I find it all so amusing. To think I did all that; and may I say, not in a shy way ….oh no, not me, I did it my way!

Life is glorious…. For me, it’s a feat …. The same man for 30 years! And yes, I’m looking forward to him reading my book. Love! Live Dangerously! And Have Fun! That’s life!

Who is SF holding hands with?

Who is SF holding hands with?

High up in the clouds

High up in the clouds

Angels or rascals?

Angels or rascals?

Red, the colour of love!

Red, the colour of love!

Angels or rascals?

Angels or rascals?

A wish come true for Grandma: a holiday with the people she loves

A wish come true for Grandma: a holiday with the people she loves

Leave a Reply

