Those who know enough is enough will always have enough

Love! Live Dangerously! And Have Fun!

Love! Live Dangerously! And Have Fun!

Those who know enough is enough will always have enough!

Cool! Saw it on a T-shirt by the window of an Oxfam shop in Rundle Mall. This saying by Lao Tzu …. Those who know enough is enough will always have enough. Love it the minute I saw it. And how true … How it applies to life itself. Do I have enough? Yes, a resounding yes! 

I don’t know how to explain this feeling … It’s like I wake up every morning and feel there’s so much to be thankful for. My three girls. Yes, though Pam is in Sydney and Pauli is in Adelaide, I thank God for all the gadgets that make communication easier. Thank God for Skype, What’s App, Facebook, although, well, kids don’t add their parents on Facebook, Pam quite belligerently told me. Then there’s Pat. She’s all grown up and I do hope she will be less stressed in her career. But, having said that, I believe everyone has to find their own footing, got to carve their own paths. As their mum, I am responsible to them, not for them! But I believe in them and I know they are capable of taking care  of themselves. I just gotta learn to stop worrying and let go! Hey, haven’t I always mouthed this mantra, “as you give your children roots, so you must give them wings.” Now I have to put it into practice … And learn to live my own life as I see it happening. 

Now what makes me happy? Helping people, sharing, caring. To my daughters, I am their mother, but now they need to go out into the world, to explore, to live their life. I want them to do this … That’s why it’s God’s invisible hand that provided this. I am thankful for SF, who made it possible for them. 

But what about him? How can I help him? Frankly, I dread listening to his whines and endless complaints about how life is so unfair. If only he learnt that one person can make a difference, and go out and do it. What about my sisters-in-law? We lived together for so many years, they’ve seen my girls grow up, why can’t they take life more positively? Why must they look so glum and look as if iron bars are weighing them down? Why do they always feel powerless to change, to do something for themselves?

I always believed things happen for a reason. There is a reason for me marrying SF, reason for me living with my in-laws, reason SF is doing his own thing and me doing mine, reason why my girls went overseas, reason why I met the Dalai Lama, and the most important, reason how I discovered my life’s purpose ….. If only I can help them discover theirs. How to, when SF is only interested in his own opinions and both my sisters-in-law don’t even want to talk to me? Well, goes back to my belief …. Things happen for a reason. Gotta figure out a reason for this one 🙂 🙂

I always see myself as a catalyst, and I feel lots of change coming this year. One, I’ve always shaped my life on other’s expectations of me. From TODAY, I will decide what I want to do with the rest of my life. On my own terms. With my own talents. 

Leave a Reply

