Welcome to the Only Classroom in Asia that gives you the license to dream and write!

Welcome to the Only Classroom in Asia that gives you the license to dream and write! And yes, to sell your creation to the world!

I took the first step in my dream! I  conducted the first trial programme in Manila. YAS and AWIS. And judging from the response of the parents who are asking if this is going to be an annual event, I believe I’d be heading to the Philippines very soon!

Two days passed by too quickly …. And running the Young Author Scheme in Manila taught me a few unknown truths:

1/ Children, whether in Singapore or elsewhere, are precocious and full of ideas! They want to create their own stories and just need that listening ear to gently nudge them in this direction. And they are so eager to share their ideas …. I am so proud of them!

2/ Boys will be boys, and girls will be girls. Most boys  will invariably go for science fiction, most girls will go for heartwarmers and magic and fantasy.

3/ The sense of accomplishment comes when seeing your work in print. A book you can call your very own. The child’s masterpiece. And parent and child just love this! And I love to see their eyes light up when they hold their book in their hands. I feel so happy for them!

And yes, as I am reading through the stories I’ve received so far …. I am again amazed at their writing talent. When you give a child the license to dream and to write, you are opening a whole new world to him. Through exploring, experiencing and experimenting, there’s so much to learn, so much you can’t get from textbooks! You just have to be aware of what’s happening around you.

And just hot off the press ….. There’s an enquiry from Hong Kong …. And yes, Oman. Praying real hard I get my first licensee soon!

Thank you, everyone who helped me get there and took care of me ….. Meliza, Kuya, Ate, and dear dear Aretha! And Neni, Aina and Roel …. this is so much fun. I really really enjoyed working with my young authors!

All excited to write my very first book!

All excited to write my very first book!

Who says writing can't be fun?!

Who says writing can’t be fun?!

Cheers! I can write. So can you!

Cheers! I can write. So can you!

Now let me see .... what's the message in your story?

Now let me see …. what’s the message in your story?

I have a great idea to share!

I have a great idea to share!

Don't disturb .... my ideas are a-brewing!

Don’t disturb …. my ideas are a-brewing!

Lots of drama in writing!

Lots of drama in writing!

Come .... share your story .... tell me, your protagonist lives in two worlds?! Uncanny. But possible ....

Come …. share your story …. tell me, your protagonist lives in two worlds?! Uncanny. But possible ….

I can write anywhere ...

I can write anywhere …

Everyone needs a break!

Everyone needs a break!

Planning my story ...

Planning my story …

At end of day .... tired but happy ... yay! I'm building the next generation of writers .... kids can write!

At end of day …. tired but happy … yay! I’m building the next generation of writers …. kids can write!

Leave a comment